Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Bad Blogger

Since i have moved to the big city I have been a terrable blogger. Saddly, and funny enough this is due in part to the fact that I no longer have a borring desk job to which I could scroll and click away on the key board till my hearts content. It isn't as easy to read up on everyone on here I love so dearly on my phone while I seat people and take drink orders.
But still, I am sure I could make better use of my time (aka sleeping) and start to get back into the swing of things and do things I enjoy. Like blogging, reading, and being outside.

E and I had our Christmas Tree Lighting Party last night and it was a total success! People came, ate, drank danced, laughed and sang...sure it was along to Glee when the show came on.. but hey it was early...and they are all actors and singers! They can't resist the Glee.

I was so impressed by the ornaments that people made and brought with them. Some where sweet and crafty like a figurine painted gold, or a small jello mold, one person dehydrated orange slices and glazed them to look like glass! Another a small piece of a statue from a church that had been torn down in Brooklyn, others bought theirs and those are just as lovely too!

Oddly the topic of blogging did come up. I believe it was the phrase "Who blogs? I mean No One cares people, stop blogging!" that made me thin twice before I timidly confessed to this here blog. But you know something? I think people just don't now what the hell it is! And true to human natural, it weirds them out because of that. When I did tell them I had a blog (or one that I was rather neglecting) they flung questions at me I am now used to answering. "Who reads it?""what do you write about?" "So you dont actually KNOW these people?".
:)
I smiled and told them I know all of you, and maybe some even better then people who see you on a day to day basis. Here you can be open and free. And I love that.

I am going to work on a post about the different mindset of New Yorkers. Its really very funny at times, enlightening and frightening too.


: There are people who just don't care.. and there are those who really just don't give a fuck. And the man whom I saw peeing between cars on 8th today at 3pm in the afternoon fell into that category. And a good afternoon to you too sir.

I hope you are well,
 and I hope you are still out there :)
B

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Baby It's Cold Outside

The weather is changing here in NYC. For the first time here, my face is cold, my hands are cold, and my ears are cold. I know that "cold" hasn't even started though for the winter.

But with the cold wind also comes the Christmas season! E and I went and bought our tree the other day and trekked it right on home fully equipped with some garland as well.  Our tree is all set up with lights, a star on top and some red berries. We even watched Parenthood (while crying of course) and strung popcorn!! I have never done that before, and it was really fun to do. I made the center piece for our table, and the wreath as well! Of course Mamba and I needed to have some new stockings, so glitter pens were purchased and I went to town :)

E and I plan to have a Christmas Tree lighting party. We are inviting about 15-20 people to come and drink wine, eat treats, play games, and each person is asked to bring a home made ornament to place on the tree before we light it up :) Doesn't that sound like fun?!

I love NYC, and the people I am meeting are great. So friendly, but I still miss my sisters and my friends oh so much. I can't wait until family and friends come so that I can share what I have come to love about the city with them, and find new places as well.

Still can't up load photos (booooo blogger) so when I do there will be a flood of them I am sure!!

OH and I am done painting my room "Jamaican Bay" teal and "frolic" pink. I found a rug at Urban Outtfiters to match the colors and bring in some greens, reds and browns.

Mamba and Toby are actually playing now! They chase each other and run around. But every now and then Toby's claws get the better of poor Mamba and thats when I find her cuddled up in my bed :/ Poor little kitty cat.

OH and the other day I went to Michaels to buy white chocolate peppermint candies, candy molds and Oreo cookies to create a yummie yummie treat!!!

I miss reading Harry Potter, I miss Sister Sundays, and I miss Paradise Bakery cookies :)

Love, B

Friday, November 18, 2011

Start Spreading the News...

For some time now Frankie singing "New York, New York" has been my ring tone. I have loads of pictures to share, but can't figure out the how tos just yet. But it feels so very odd to have not been on my beloved blogger in so long. So where should I begin?

On Wednesday night two weeks ago, I sat around my kitchen table in Chandler Az and laughed and chatted with my three very best friends and my sister dearest. I cried a rather ugly cry when it came time to say good bye to each of them. And in many ways I don't think it has STILL hit me that they are not right around the corner from me.
The flight with mamba my darling brave kitty cat was...trying. On both of our nerves. The calming meds laughed in both our faces and did little to actually put her to sleep. In fact on a rather particularly shaky landing into Chicago it was both incredibly sad, and funny in a way only a delirious woman such as myself could find funny when mamba projectile vomited out of her kennel on the plane. yep.. I was that girl.
She is so happy now though in her new digs, and his making less and less hissing sounds at her new buddy Toby..my new roommates female cat.

I love New York. It i exactly what I wanted it to be without it trying too hard. I came at just the right time to still see the beautiful changing leaves and have the fun brisk walks with colorful scarves and cute shoes. SHOES! Oh the shoes. How they have let me down. I am not sure if I'm the only one, or if no one else is talking about it. So let me be the first. MY FEET KILL. I mean this in a very real way. Waiting in long lines at amusement parks feet has NOTHING on this feeling. Hiking all day in poor quality shoes have NOTHING on these feet. These feet burn they hurt so bad. Throbbing would be better then the amount of pain I get in my feet. If You say "try inserts" I might just come through my screen and strangle you..a little. Because I have currently THREE different kinds in my one pair of shoes. So. Sex in the City can suck it because ain't no way I will be jaunting around town in high heels for the look of it. I'm getting all "working Girl" in this bitch and wearing practical ugly shoes with a cuter pair hidden n my giant baglady bag.
Well... that was a rather unexpected rant. Needed however.

I have started to train at the Tequila Bar and Resturant and I love it.  work with some very nice and talented people. Singers dancers acters.. everyones got something. Except this girl (me) who is an  massage therapist :) There have been a few celebs who have come in which is fun and also a test of just how creepy one is. Such as when the girl from Boy Meets World came in and I had to resist the urge to reach out and pet her hair. I didn't of course.. but man did I want to. Ugh red flags right! lol

I have learned three things thus far about New Yorkers. One: they aren't that mean.. and if you are being yelled at by one of them you probably deserve it. Just like the woman I yelled at on the street three days in of being here.. you just cant STOP in the way of everyone come on now. Two: They aren't looking up not because they are jaded and no longer appreciate the view of the buildings.. its because we are trying to not trip, or step in something sticky and yucky. And Three: Theyre kinda awesome. I cant explain the last one. But when I was riding on the subway one day tired and unwilling to give my seat up to anyone, I watched and joined in as everyone in the car got up and gave their seat up to the tired and cold runners of the New York City Marathon runners complete with a round of applause each time more got on. They surprise me, delight me, and inspire me.

So glad I have arrived. So glad that I have you all back too :)

I will write again soon..must go paint my bedroom!

 I will also be catching up on all YOUR wonderful blogs too so look for those late comments !

Love-B